Field hockey announces schedule for inaugural season

Field hockey announces schedule for inaugural season

BRYN ATHYN, Pa. – The Bryn Athyn College field hockey team will make its debut as the College's 14th NCAA Division III sport when it takes the field on Friday, Sept. 1 against Immaculata University at 7 p.m. on General Ronald K. Nelson Field. The game is the first of 14 that make up the team's 2017 schedule, that was released Tuesday.

"As a coaching staff, we are extremely excited to finally start our inaugural field hockey season," said head coach Katie Fitzgerald. "All the hard work and dedication to recruiting, scheduling, planning and getting to this point of competition is finally here and we couldn't be happier. We have a strong schedule, and are looking forward to capitalizing on each success to catapult us through the season."

In addition to being the season opener, the match against Immaculata will be the first Bryn Athyn fall varsity sporting event to take place at night on Nelson Field. It is one of seven night matches on the 2017 slate.

"It makes the first game even more exhilarating knowing that we will be the first fall varsity event to play under the lights," stated Fitzgerald. "We are certainly ready to hit the ground running, and are looking forward to playing a great team like Immaculata to kick off our season."

After taking on Immaculata, Bryn Athyn welcomes Cedar Crest to campus on Wednesday, Sept. 6. Then, the Lions hit the road for the first time with trips to Keystone on Saturday, Sept. 9 and Bryn Mawr on Wednesday, Sept. 13.

The Lions close out the month alternating home and away matches, beginning with a home game against the College of Notre Dame (Md.) on Saturday, Sept. 16. The month ends with a trip to DeSales on Thursday, Sept. 21, the first North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) match in program history against visiting Keuka on Saturday, Sept. 23, and a match at Swarthmore on Wednesday, Sept. 27.

Bryn Athyn heads to New York to square off with defending NEAC champion Wells on Sunday, Oct. 1. The Lions host back-to-back home games against non-conference opponents Sweet Briar on Saturday, Oct. 7 and Delaware Valley on Wednesday, Oct. 11. The game with the Aggies on the 11th will be the Lions' Think Pink Night.

NEAC play ends with a trip to Wilson on Tuesday, Oct. 17 and the regular-season home finale against Morrisville State on Friday, Oct. 20. The regular comes to a close on Monday, Oct. 23 at Arcadia.