Women's soccer announces 2018 schedule

Women's soccer announces 2018 schedule

Complete 2018 Women's Soccer Schedule

BRYN ATHYN, Pa. -- The third season for the Bryn Athyn College women's soccer team premieres Saturday, Sept. 1, when the Lions travel to Lancaster Bible to take on the Chargers. The schedule is set for a 15-match season with six home games, announced by head coach Bill O'Neill on Tuesday.

Lion fans don't have long to wait for the team's home opener, which comes four days later against former conference foe Penn State Abington on Wednesday, Sept. 5. After back-to-back road games against Old Westbury on Saturday, Sept. 8 and Immaculata on Monday, Sept. 10, the team returns to General Ronald K. Nelson Field on Thursday, Sept. 13 to host Penn State Lehigh Valley. Before conference play begins, the Lions head back on the road to play Gwynedd Mercy on Wednesday, September 19, and Neumann on Wednesday, September 26.

Bryn Athyn makes its Colonial States Athletic Conference (CSAC) debut at home on Saturday, Sept. 29, when its faces Wilson College, kicking off eight games of conference play. Wilson made the switch from the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) to the CSAC with Bryn Athyn in July.

The team goes back on the road take on two more CSAC opponents in Cedar Crest on Tuesday, Oct. 2 and Notre Dame (Md.) on Saturday, Oct. 6. 

The Lions begin a three-game homestand with against Centenary (N.J.) on Wednesday, Oct. 10. After facing Cairn on Saturday, Oct. 13 as part of the Charter Day Weekend, the Lions play their final home game of the regular season against Keystone on Tuesday, October 16.

The regular season concludes with the Lions traveling to Clarks Summit to challenge the Defenders on Saturday, Oct. 20 and wrapping up at Rosemont on Thursday, Oct. 25.

Last season, Bryn Athyn won a program-record nine games and made their first postseason appearance, getting past Lancaster Bible in penalty kicks in the first round of the NEAC Tournament before a second-round exit to Penn State Berks. The Lions returns All-NEAC second-team selection Shelby Puccio, who ranked second the conference with 20 goals and fourth with 42 points, both program records.